2019 Crypto Compliance: Year in Review

by Marina Khaustova

Dec 27, 2019

Book a Demo to learn more about Crystal

Overview of the 2019 Global Cryptocurrency Compliance Industry

2019 was a year of preparation and standardization for the cryptocurrency industry, as regulators around the world came together to enforce tangible legislation impacting the ecosystem. In the U.S., SEC Chairman Jay Clayton spoke candidly to a Senate Committee in December, informing them that the SEC is taking a measured yet proactive regulatory approach to crypto that will both foster innovation and capital formation while protecting investors and U.S. markets.

In June 2019, the Financial Action Task Force (FATF) published its “Guidance for a Risk-Based Approach to Virtual Assets and Virtual Asset Service Providers” giving countries until June of 2020 to implement these guidelines. The EU’s 5th Anti Money Laundering Directive (5th AML Directive) also included a definition of cryptocurrencies, as well as more advanced AML regulatory requirements for obligated entities. The EU Member States have to transpose the requirements of the 5th AML Directive by 10 January 2020.

Some countries have already begun to change their legislative frameworks in advance of these major global regulatory changes. South Korea has already begun taking legal measures to stamp out unregistered exchanges, and financial regulators in Singapore will introduce a Payment Services Act in January 2020. China has also taken steps to advance KYC legislation ahead of the release of their state cryptocurrency.

Crystal Blockchain’s International Bitcoin Flow Report highlighted just how much regulation has influenced (and will continue to influence) the flow of bitcoin and other cryptocurrencies between registered and unregistered exchanges. The team has also published an interactive fund flow map on its website with updated data and statistics from the report.

Access the Bitcoin Flow Interactive Map

Overview of Bad Actors & Malicious Activity with Crypto in 2019

The use of bitcoin for darknet market operations has undoubtedly seen an increase in activity in recent years, but now it’s easier than ever to track these activities due to the public blockchain’s transparency and immutability. The Crystal analytics team has created a report on darknet activities and bitcoin to analyze and measure bitcoin use on the dark web.

Read the Darknet Activities & Bitcoin Report in Full

Crystal’s Crypto Compliance

This year, we aggressively pursued updates and improvements to our platform to make it easier for our clients to comply with upcoming 2020 regulations. The team has been enhancing due diligence practices and account reviewing for our customers by enhancing our risk storing tools and creating a concise case management system for shared investigations. We have also added customizable alert functionality as well as additional fund flow verification for enhanced risk management.

Our platform now supports analysis of four major cryptocurrencies: Bitcoin, Ethereum (as well as ERC20 and ERC721 tokens), Bitcoin Cash and Litecoin. Our public blockchain and wallet coverage continues to grow and our algorithms reviewing these blockchains continue to improve. In compliance with current and future regulations, Crystal Blockchain’s advanced risk-scoring algorithm and address-listing function is based on information gathered from known sanctioned entities.

We are looking forward to the year ahead in crypto compliance. We will be adding more currencies to the platform soon, including Tether & Ripple, and we will be continuously updating our platform settings for easier and more efficient compliance and investigation.

Book a Demo to see the Crystal platform in action

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all of our clients for your continued support. We wish you a happy holiday season — see you in 2020!

Best,

The Crystal Blockchain Team

See the Crystal Blockchain platform in action. Get a demo today

Similar news

2020 Report on Fund Sources for Dormant Bitcoin Addresses

It's been 11 years since the genesis Bitcoin block was created. During these last 11 years, bitcoin has been used for payments, exchange trading, and as a store of value. Not all mined bitcoins move much after their creation, however.

by the Crystal analytics team

Aug 04, 2020

Bitfury’s Crystal to assist the Ukrainian Ministry of Digital Transformation

Bitfury’s Crystal analytics to assist the Ukrainian Ministry of Digital Transformation

by the Crystal communications team

Jul 24, 2020

Crypto Regulation Continues To Progress Despite COVID-19 Pandemic

The Crystal Blockchain analytics team continues its quarterly update to the International Bitcoin Flows Analytics Report that was first compiled back in September 2019. This update takes into account fund flows from 2013 through the first six months of 2020. The report also considers the progress that has been made with the FATF guidelines and “travel rule”, despite the current COVID-19 pandemic that has seen many processes slowed down or stalled.

by the Crystal analytics team

Jul 14, 2020

Bitfury Group Brings Crystal Blockchain to India with HumanSTAR*

India's Strategic Advisory Firm, HumanSTAR* to offer Crystal Blockchain Analysis for Indian Law Enforcement Agencies

by the Crystal communications team

Jul 07, 2020

Upbit and Crystal partner to strengthen exchange’s compliance

South Korea-based crypto exchange Upbit will use Crystal analytics to strengthen AML compliance procedures

by the Crystal communications team

Jun 19, 2020

11 Years Later: Is Satoshi Nakamoto Finally Moving Bitcoin Funds?

More than ten years after the launch of the Bitcoin Blockchain, coins that were mined on February 9, 2009 have just started moving. Yesterday, 50 BTC left the address 17XiVVooLcdCUCMf9s4t4jTExacxwFS5uh. They were initially received in block number 3,654, created on February 9, 2009 - exactly one month after bitcoin mining started.

by the Crystal analytics team

May 22, 2020

Darknet Use and Bitcoin — A Crypto Activity Report by Crystal Blockchain

This report by Crystal Blockchain analytics reviews the use of bitcoin by darknet entities. The report analyzes darknet interactions with exchanges and other entities throughout the first quarter of 2020 and compares it to historical darknet activity from the past three years.

by the Crystal analytics team

May 19, 2020

Historical Data Shows Crypto Exchange Dynamics Influenced By Regulatory Changes

To investigate the effects of new regulation on the cryptocurrency market, as well as the extent virtual asset service providers will be affected by the changes, the Crystal™ Blockchain analytics team has issued an updated report on the historical international flow of bitcoin between cryptocurrency exchanges.

by the Crystal analytics team

May 05, 2020

2019 Darknet Interactions and Bitcoin — A Crypto Activity Report by Crystal Blockchain

The Crystal analytics team have compiled a detailed report based on investigations into darknet interactions using bitcoin, and how regulation is changing trends.

by the Crystal analytics team

Dec 15, 2019

The Year in Review for Crystal Blockchain Analytics — 2018

The Crystal™ analytics platform is the all-in-one blockchain analytics tool for law enforcement bodies, capital market companies and financial organizations. This software provides a comprehensive view of the public blockchain ecosystem and uses advanced analytics and data scraping to map cryptocurrency transactions and related entities and to reveal suspicious funds and participants.

by Marina Khaustova

Jan 24, 2019